June 23

‘The Adoration of Jenna Fox’ by Mary E. Pearson

adoration-of-jenna-foxWhat if your parents loved you so much that they couldn’t let you go…even when they should? Jenna wakes from a coma with no memory of her life or of who she is. When she does learn more, the truth is horrifying, leaving her with lots of questions: “When is a cell finally too small to hold our essence?” “What about a soul, Father?…where in all this groundbreaking technology did you insert my soul?” This novel had me glued from beginning to end! It raises lots of questions about what it means to be human, about our rights over our own bodies, and about loving someone enough to let them go. The movie rights to this book have been sold. Check out the book trailer here: http://www.whoisjennafox.com/ Mary Pearson also talks about the film deal in her blog: http://marypearson.livejournal.com/56971.html Mrs K

‘The Adoration of Jenna Fox’ by Mary E. Pearson is about a teenage girl named Jenna Fox. At least that’s what everyone says her name is. Jenna wakes up after spending one year in coma and can’t remember a thing from her old life. So she decides to start a new one. After a few weeks of watching videos of herself before the accident Jenna decides that she is different to the girl in the videos, although she looks exactly the same, except for a single scar on her chin that she sees the girl in the video has. Jenna doesn’t have a scar on her chin anymore, do scars heal over time? She sometimes doesn’t know what a word means, not complex words but simple words like ‘jump’, ‘hot’ or ‘apple’. Even the word ‘time’. Her father tells her that time heals; she doesn’t tell him that she doesn’t know what time is. And why can she remember the details of the French revolution, but can’t remember whether she had a best friend? Her parents are keeping a secret. Now all she has to do is find out what the secret is, let alone who she is.

The book pulled me in from the very beginning, and tested my imagination, how is Jenna still alive? And what’s this secret her parents are keeping? I would suggest this book to anyone who loves drama and a little mystery; it’s a truly compelling read for all. It pulls you in from the very first sentence ‘I used to be someone, someone named Jenna Fox’ and keeps you turning the pages well into the night up to the final page. Courtenay, Year 8.

‘The Adoration of Jenna Fox’ is the story of a seventeen year old girl who mysteriously wakes from a coma after she was already considered gone. The problem is she can’t remember a single detail of her life. This book caught my attention right when my eyes hit the cover and although that interest faded slightly as I started reading, when I turned that all important page and found out what really happened to Jenna Fox I couldn’t put it down. ‘The Adoration of Jenna Fox’ is gripping, interesting and well written.  I thoroughly enjoyed it. Laura, Year 8

I have read about half of The Adoration of Jenna Fox. I enjoyed the beginning of it. It was very slow for me for the first 10 or so chapters but then it started to kick into action. I am not much of a fan of the sci-fi style of book but I can handle a bit of it. I would most definitely recommend this book to a person with a feminine side, most-likely a female because it is a very touching book with a lot of emotion and feeling within it. I would also recommend it to someone who likes the use their imagination while reading, because you are going to need to use your imagination in this book. I rate this book a two out of ten but I am guessing a lot of people would disagree with me. Clay, Year 8 

The adoration of Jenna Fox is a book that challenges the brain in many ways. The book delivers suspense, excitement and exhilaration all wrapped tightly in a package lined with mystery and emotional thread. Throughout the story, the package is slowly unwrapped and an explosion of emotion is released to the unsuspecting reader. I loved this book even though I am a boy and this book is aimed at older girls. 4.5 stars. Zane, Year 8

Tags: , , ,

Posted June 23, 2009 by marjk in category Student Reviews, Teacher Reviews

About the Author

Teacher-librarian at Aquinas College, Southport, Gold Coast, Australia

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*