May 25

Tristan Bancks visits Aquinas

Tristan BancksTristan Bancks with Thompson compressedHi

Thanks a million for having me at Aquinas today. I had a good workshop session first up with twenty year eight and nine students. There was some amazing writing being done and then read out to the group. We worked on Freewriting, which is how I get most of my ideas. I write three pages flat out at the beginning of each day. I don’t worry about making it neat or perfect. I just get the words down. This helps develop my Voice and helps me to avoid getting writer’s block. Even if it’s not brilliant the first time the words are written I know that I can make it work in the rewrite.

The large group talks covered the images, video, web links and music that inspire me as I write. It was a fun day and I hope you got something out of it.

 Cheers,  Tristan. www.tristanbancks.com

Tags:

Posted May 25, 2010 by marjk in category Author comments

About the Author

Teacher-librarian at Aquinas College, Southport, Gold Coast, Australia

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*