May 13

‘Crispin, the cross of lead’ by Avi

Crispin_and_the_Cross_of_Lead“As a frowning Aycliffe began to fold the document, he turned away. When he shifted, he saw me. Our eyes met. My heart all but stopped.”

Crispin is a story set in England in the 1300’s. This novel is about a boy living in poverty as a slave. After the death of his mother, he is accused of a crime that he didn’t commit. He is then announced to be a ‘wolf’s head’. This means that anyone that catches him can kill him. He is forced to leave his village with his new name and his mother’s cross of lead. This novel at the moment is very interesting. I have not read all of it but at the moment it is living up way past my expectations. If you like books with a bit of mystery and adventure I strongly suggest you read this book. George Yr8

Crispin is a deep and meaningful book. I’ve only read half of it so far but it has got me hooked. Crispin’s mum has died protecting Crispin from evil. But why? Crispin is trying to discover why everyone wanted his mum dead and now is wanting him dead. Maybe it has something to do with his past or with his family. I’ve got to read more to figure that out. Crispin is a great book and I can’t wait to read the rest. Nicholas, Year 8

Crispin The Cross of Lead is a story about a young boy (Crispin) in medieval England. The book starts with the death of Crispin’s mother, which sets up a series of complicating events forcing Crispin to leave the village he has known his entire life and sending him out across the countryside. His journey goes on to see various layers of society. I liked this book myself because you can almost feel what Crispin is going through. Carlo, Year 8

Tags: , , ,

Posted May 13, 2011 by marjk in category Adventure stories, Historical fiction, Mystery, Student Reviews

About the Author

Teacher-librarian at Aquinas College, Southport, Gold Coast, Australia

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*