May 13

‘Don’t Call me Ishmael’ by Michael Gerard Bauer

Don't call me ishmaelThis story is about a St Daniels’ Year Niner, whose problems all come from his name: Ishmael Leseur. Ishmael was named after the great Ishmael in Moby Dick but can he live up to his name? In the story there is bullying and friendship, good times and bad, love and hate, and learning to stand up to your fears.  I liked this book a lot because in some ways I could relate to what he went through. It was also good because the characters were funny, there was love and there was pain, typical high school life. I would recommend this story to teenagers particularly boys, but girls would like it too. Ciara, Year 8

Tags: , , ,

Posted May 13, 2011 by marjk in category Funny books, Realistic fiction, Student Reviews, Uncategorized

About the Author

Teacher-librarian at Aquinas College, Southport, Gold Coast, Australia

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*