August 12

‘All I Ever Wanted’ by Vikki Wakefield

Mim is a refreshingly restless main character, determined to be different to her surrounding world of crime and small town bigotry. Fittingly, I read this book while sitting on a bench seat in downtown Texas, Queensland, population 900. A few Mims passed me by, coming into town on a Saturday morning to buy a few groceries. I wondered what their lives were like, how many, like Mim longed to get away, to discover themselves, to experience new people and vistas. Wakefield takes care to ensure that we understand Mim’s uniqueness, so for me the ending was a little too neat. Otherwise, it would be a 5 star book for me. Highly recommended. Mrs O.
Reserve this book here.

Tags: ,

Posted August 12, 2011 by marjk in category Realistic fiction, Teacher Reviews

About the Author

Teacher-librarian at Aquinas College, Southport, Gold Coast, Australia

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*