November 25

‘Next Summer’ by Hailey Abbott

I am not the type of person who particularly likes to read. If someone asked me to read a book, I would procrastinate as much as possible. But I’ve never found a book that I enjoy more than Next Summer, which is a Summer Boys novel (also a wonderful book).

The book is targeted at young teenage girls, and that is exactly who it attracts. My friends and I have all read this book and we all have the same opinion – that it is extremely interesting and easy to relate to.
I particularly found this novel interesting, because there are so many aspects of it that I can relate to, such as relationships, betrayal, siblings, holidays and tricky situations, which are impossible to avoid. Most teenage girls could relate to this book in the same ways as myself.

The book’s main characters are Beth, Ella and Kelsi. Ella and Kelsi are both sisters yet are so different. Kelsi is more of a reserved girl, whereas Ella attracts the attention of every guy she walks past, as if she is some magnet. Beth’s boyfriend, George is going off to a painting school during summer break, rather than go with her to Pebble Beach.

I highly recommend this book for girls aged 14-17, as the vocabulary featured in the book is suited to the age demographic, and girls of these ages tend to face the same troubles that are featured in the book. It is a great book, filled with new problems and heartbreak, yet also brings a smile to one’s face.

By Jessie U, Year 9.

Tags: , , , ,

Posted November 25, 2011 by marjk in category Love stories, Realistic fiction, Student Reviews

About the Author

Teacher-librarian at Aquinas College, Southport, Gold Coast, Australia

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*