May 6

‘Checkers’ by John Marsden

CheckersWhen I started reading this book I didn’t really know what was happening because it didn’t have much information about the characters or where the book was taking place. As I reached the 4th chapter it all started to make sense. I then knew that the book was about a girl in a hospital with people that had mental problems and she also had a dog named Checkers. Checkers seemed to be an interesting dog. He had an unusual coat, not like every other dog. It was described to look a little like a chessboard. The girl had a mum, dad and a brother. Her dad was involved with a company called, “Rider Group”.  At first I wasn’t really enjoying the book but as you read more it gets really interesting and I really enjoyed it.  Zoe, Year 8

Well this book is confusing at the start but then when you pass around Chapter 3 it is really interesting. I would say it’s a mystery book because you never know what’s going to happen next.  But it is a good book for good readers and if you like mystery I would recommend it to you. Madi, Year 8

When I first started this book I was really confused and the story just didn’t seem to make sense. As I got further into the book I started to understand. This is what it is about: Everything seems to be going right for a young girl and her family. She has parents, a brother and a dog. But everything very quickly goes wrong and her life is about to fall apart. She is in a psych hospital with other people who all have their own problems. Her dog is Checkers and sometimes it seems that the dog is the only one she can trust. Selena, Yr 8.

When I started reading this book I didn’t know what was going on and it was very confusing but when I got past chapter 4 and five it all came together. The main character lives in a hospital with her family and her dog Checkers and all of her friends who have their own mental problems. I would recommend this book to anyone that likes a book that you’re always wondering what happens next. Jack , Year 8

Tags: ,

Posted May 6, 2010 by marjk in category Mystery, Realistic fiction, Student Reviews

About the Author

Teacher-librarian at Aquinas College, Southport, Gold Coast, Australia

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*